top of page

Healthy BBQ Alternatives: Turkey Burgers

Is there anything better than a BBQ?

Summer time eats are often treats. Treats that we like to share with others, containing a little more sweet and a little more fat.

But it does NOT have to.

I enjoy a good BBQ , a fire, a walk for ice cream.... over the next week I will share with you some healthy alternatives that will make your tastebuds water and you'll want to share with your friends.

FIRST RECIPE:

Lets start with a great BBQ alternative that is #DairyFree #GlutenFree and #Keto friendly.

Turkey Burgers!! -

These are one of my top favourites. I have talked about these as an alternative before.

Recently I have re-vamped my recipe for summer BBQ season & I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Recipe:

2 Pounds Ground Turkey

1 TBS Oregano

1 Fresh Clove Garlic Crushed

1 TSP ginger

1 TSP Cayenne

1 Cup Chop Portobello Mushrooms

1 Large Red Onion Chopped

1 Large Egg

Himilayan Salt & Pepper To Taste

I top my burgers with Mustard, a tiny bit of natural peanut butter, sliced tomatoes and if I really want a nice treat a slice of turkey bacon. All on a lettuce wrap.

I don't always use a lettuce wrap to substitute for a bun. Sometimes I am craving a nice toasted multigrain bun and that is okay too.

So, why am I showing you turkey burgers instead of beef burgers?...

Fat content is the big difference between beef and turkey options. Although there can be lean cuts with as little as 4 grams of fat, there are many others that contain lots of fat. For example, a tenderloin can contain as much as 16 gram per 3-once serving. Leaner cuts of beef include the top round, flank, shoulder and extra-lean ground beef. That being said, Turkey is generally low-fat, with most pieces containing only 1 to 4 grams, but remember it is important to remove the skin. Eating the skin brings a turkey breast from 1 gram of fat to 7 grams.

https://www.livestrong.com/article/543819-turkey-vs-beef-protein/

bottom of page